You can cancel a shift with the uPaged app ('how-to' shown below) but just note, uPaged takes shift cancellations very seriously.
Cancellations can mean that a hospital is not able to find a replacement to care for their patients.
Similarly, when a hospital cancels a nurse with short notice the nurse may not be able to find a replacement shift, resulting in a loss of income.
Our aim is to create timely transparency around this, but we are also aware that unexpected things come up.
If you are cancelling a booked shift within 24 hours of the start of the shift, do not call uPaged. You must call the hospital directly as the hospital is your employer (learn what this means here: https://bit.ly/3a6TFN4) to update them of your non-attendance. The cancellation contact number for each hospital is listed on the hospital's profile in the 'Additional Information' tab.
How to cancel a shift
- Login to your uPaged profile.
- Locate the shift you need to cancel below your calendar under 'booked shifts'.
- Select CANCEL
4. Confirm the cancellation. The hospital will be directly notified.
If you have applied for a shift but your application has not been booked or confirmed yet, select CANCEL on the shift application. You are not required to ring the hospital, and do not ring uPaged.